This is the official website of
Website last modified on
Sunday 19 June 2016
(see also our Twitter feed)
The ‘Hastings’ Diesel-Electric Multiple Units (DEMUs) are a unique type of narrow-bodied train which was constructed in 1957 and 1958 for the London–Hastings service via Tunbridge Wells. After the route was electrified in 1986 most of the fleet was scrapped, but some of the carriages were bought by a specially-formed company called Hastings Diesels Limited. Following restoration at St. Leonards depot, the train pictured above is available for use and has run extensively in public service on the main line.